This is the "Artiste Francais" page of the "Artiste Francais: Vanderputten French III" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Artiste Francais: Vanderputten French III   Tags: french, languages, research  

Resources to explore French artists and art
Last Updated: Jan 25, 2016 URL: http://libguides.cvuhs.org/ArtisteFrancais Print Guide RSS Updates

Artiste Francais Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books From the Library

Cover Art
50 Women Artists You Should Know - Petra Larass; Christiane Weidemann; Melanie Klier
Call Number: 709.22 WEI
ISBN: 9783791339566
Publication Date: 2008-04-30

Cover Art
Art That Changed the World - Dorling Kindersley Publishing Staff
Call Number: 759 ART
ISBN: 9781465414359
Publication Date: 2013-08-19

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Artists - William Vaughn (Editor)
Call Number: REF 709.2 Enc
ISBN: 0195215729
Publication Date: 2001-01-04

Cover Art
Cezanne - Alfonso Gatto (Preface by); Stefania Lapenta (Editor)
Call Number: 759.4 Cez
ISBN: 0847827313
Publication Date: 2005-10-11

Cover Art
Gustave Courbet - Fabrice Masanès
Call Number: 759.4 Mas
ISBN: 9783822856833
Publication Date: 2006-10-01

Cover Art
Degas - Franco Russoli (Preface by); Vanessa Gavioli (Editor)
Call Number: 759.4 Deg
ISBN: 0847827305
Publication Date: 2005-10-11

Cover Art
Manet - Marcello Venturi (Editor); Federica Armiraglio (Editor)
Call Number: 759.4 Man
ISBN: 0847829103
Publication Date: 2007-01-02

Cover Art
Monet - Roberto Tassi (Preface by); Vanessa Gavioli (Editor)
Call Number: 759.4 Mon
ISBN: 0847827283
Publication Date: 2005-10-11

Cover Art
Monet and Modernism - Karin Sagner-Duchting
Call Number: 759.06 MON
ISBN: 3791326155
Publication Date: 2002-02-01


Comprehensive Biographical Information

Use these 2 Library databases to find biographical and contextual information about your French artist.

Search by the artist's last name.

              

      

    Web sources

    Use these fantastic web sources for more help understanding your artist and his/her important role in art history

    Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History - Use the "Search" box to search your artist by name and then read the "Thematic Essays" associated with your artist ("France, 1900 A.D.–present," "Impressionism," "Cubism," "Fauvism," "Women Artists in Ninteenth-Century France," "Post-Impressionism"...)

    The Timeline of Art History presents the Met’s collection via a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of global art history. Targeted at students and scholars of art history, it is an invaluable reference, research, and teaching tool. Authored by the Met’s experts—predominantly made up of curators but also of conservators, scientists, and educators—the Timeline comprises 300 timelines, 930 essays, close to 7,000 objects, and a robust index, and is regularly updated and enriched to provide new scholarship and insights on the collection.

    The Art Story

    Search by artist, art movement, or timeline. Easy to use format provides a synopsis, key ideas, most important works by the artist, as well as an artist biography and other resources.

        

      Museum Collections

      • Musee d'Orsay
        The Musee d'Orsay in Paris houses the largest collection of impressionist and post-impressionist masterpieces in the world. The collection includes works by Monet, Manet, Degas, Renoir, Cézanne, Seurat, Gauguin and Van Gogh. Images from the collection and relevant background information are available on the museum website.
      • Musee Rodin, Paris
        The Musee Rodin in Paris' collection includes 6,600 sculptures, 8,000 drawings, 8,000 old photographs and 7,000 objets d’art. The Musée Rodin contains most of Rodin's significant creations, including The Thinker, The Kiss and The Gates of Hell.
      • Rodin Museum, Philadelphia
        The Rodin Museum is a museum located in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania which contains the largest collection of sculptor Auguste Rodin's works outside Paris. The museum's website features high-quality images of its collection.
      • National Museum of Women in the Arts
        The National Museum of Women in the Arts is the only major museum in the world solely dedicated to recognizing women’s creative contributions. Biographical information and works by Camille Claudel, Mary Cassatt, and Berthe Morisot can be found here.
      • Shelburne Museum: Impressionist Paintings
        The Museum’s Impressionist collection includes five works by Claude Monet, four by Edouard Manet, seven by Edgar Degas, and four pastels and two prints by Mary Cassatt. Several were first exhibited in Paris in the famed Impressionist Exhibitions of the 1870s and ’80s.
        Also on display are works by Gustave Courbet.
      • Art Institute of Chicago: Impressionism and Post Impressionism
        The Art Institute of Chicago has an extensive collection of European painting and sculpture. Major Impressionist and Post-Impressionist works and classic Modern works are among its most significant holdings.
      • Museum of Modern Art
        The collection at New York's MoMA contains almost 200,000 works of modern and contemporary art by over 10,000 artists. 62,000 works are available online.
      • Guggenheim Museum
        This online collection contains selected classic works and more recent acquisitions from the Guggenheim Museum in New York.
      • The J. Paul Getty Museum
        Browse the Getty Museum's open content image collection. These images are free to use, modify, and publish for any purpose.
       

      Plein air et peinture du paysage / Mooc "L'impressionnisme" (S02-1)

      More Links and Resources

      • The Paintings of Paul Cézanne: An Online Catalogue Raisonnée.
        This online catalog of Cézanne's works is organized in five consecutive groups or themes: landscape, portrait, figure composition, still life, and bather. Many entries include commentaries and supplementary materials, such as sketches and studies by Cézanne, historical photographs, site photos, vintage postcards, or works by other artists.
      • Paris, Capital of the 19th century
        This project of the French Studies and Comparative Literature Departments at Brown University, provides a window into the cultural, political and social context of 19th century Parisian culture. Included are visual resources and essays.
      • Google Art Project
        This resource features over 40,000 images of artworks from museums, galleries, and cultural institutions in 40 countries. Some images are presented in "gigapixel" format, allowing for extremely detailed viewing. Using Google Street View technology, you can also take a virtual "walk" through places such as the Doge's Palace in Venice, the National Museum of Korea, and Versailles.
      • Artsy
        Artsy features almost 200,000 high-quality contemporary art images from several major galleries, museum collections, foundations, artist estates, and art fairs.
      • Wikiart
        The goal of this site is to provide a "high-quality, [complete] and well-structured online repository of fine art." You can browse by artist, movement, nationality, technique, style, and several other criteria to explore this fairly comprehensive, crowd-sourced image collection.
      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip