This is the "Drawing & Painting" page of the "Drawing & Painting Artist Investigation" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Drawing & Painting Artist Investigation   Tags: art, bibliographies, citations, research  

Resources for students to help with artist presentations in Ms. McLean's W2 class.
Last Updated: Sep 9, 2016 URL: http://libguides.cvuhs.org/Artists Print Guide RSS Updates
Drawing & Painting Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books From the Library

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Artists - William Vaughn (Editor)
Call Number: REF 709.2 Enc
ISBN: 0195215729
Publication Date: 2001-01-04

Cover Art
Facts on File Biographical Encyclopedia of Artists - Lawrence Gowing (Editor)
Call Number: REF 709.22 BIO
ISBN: 0816058032
Publication Date: 2005-08-01

Cover Art
50 Women Artists You Should Know - Petra Larass; Christiane Weidemann; Melanie Klier
Call Number: 709.22 WEI
ISBN: 9783791339566
Publication Date: 2008-04-30

Cover Art
Lives of the Artists - Kathleen Krull; Kathryn Hewitt (Illustrator)
Call Number: 920 KRU
ISBN: 0152001034
Publication Date: 1995-10-31

Cover Art
Art That Changed the World - Dorling Kindersley Publishing Staff
Call Number: 759 ART
ISBN: 9781465414359
Publication Date: 2013-08-19

Comprehensive Biographical Information

Use these two Library Databases to find biographical and contextual information about your artist:

Search by the artist's last name.

 

      

    Web sources

    Use these fantastic web sources for to understand your artist and his/her important role in art history:

    Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History

    (Use the "Search" box to search your artist by name and then read the "Thematic Essays" associated with your artist)

    The Timeline of Art History presents the Met’s collection via a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of global art history. Targeted at students and scholars of art history, it is an invaluable reference, research, and teaching tool. Authored by the Met’s experts—predominantly made up of curators but also of conservators, scientists, and educators—the Timeline comprises 300 timelines, 930 essays, close to 7,000 objects, and a robust index, and is regularly updated and enriched to provide new scholarship and insights on the collection.

    The Art Story
    Search by artist, art movement, or timeline. Easy to use format provides a synopsis, key ideas, most important works by the artist,as well as an artist biography and other resources.


    Artsy
    Artsy features almost 200,000 high-quality contemporary art images from several major galleries, museum collections, foundations, artist estates, and art fairs. Search by artist  or categories.

        
       

      The Tate's Timeline of Modern Art

       

      NoodleTools' Guide to Citing Images

      More Links and Resources

      • Google Art Project
        This resource features over 40,000 images of artworks from museums, galleries, and cultural institutions in 40 countries. Some images are presented in "gigapixel" format, allowing for extremely detailed viewing. Using Google Street View technology, you can also take a virtual "walk" through places such as the Doge's Palace in Venice, the National Museum of Korea, and Versailles.
      • Wikiart
        The goal of this site is to provide a "high-quality, [complete] and well-structured online repository of fine art." You can browse by artist, movement, nationality, technique, style, and several other criteria to explore this fairly comprehensive, crowd-sourced image collection.

      Museum Collections

      • Museum of Modern Art
        The collection at New York's MoMA contains almost 200,000 works of modern and contemporary art by over 10,000 artists. 62,000 works are available online.
      • Guggenheim Museum
        This online collection contains selected classic works and more recent acquisitions from the Guggenheim Museum in New York.
      • The J. Paul Getty Museum
        Browse the Getty Museum's open content image collection. These images are free to use, modify, and publish for any purpose.
      • Art Institute of Chicago: Modern Painting and Sculpture
        The Art Institute of Chicago has an extensive collection of European painting and sculpture. Major Impressionist and Post-Impressionist works and classic Modern works are among its most significant holdings.
      • Tate Modern
        The Tate Modern in London holds the national collection of British art from 1500 to the present day and international modern and contemporary art.
      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip