This is the "Artistas Hispanos" page of the "Artistas Hispanos" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Artistas Hispanos   Tags: art, languages, research, spanish  

Information on Spanish artists and their works.
Last Updated: Jan 25, 2016 URL: http://libguides.cvuhs.org/artistashispanos Print Guide RSS Updates

Artistas Hispanos Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books From the Library

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Artists - William Vaughn (Editor)
Call Number: REF 709.2 Enc
ISBN: 0195215729
Publication Date: 2001-01-04

Cover Art
Facts on File Biographical Encyclopedia of Artists - Lawrence Gowing (Editor)
Call Number: REF 709.22 BIO
ISBN: 0816058032
Publication Date: 2005-08-01

Cover Art
Dali - Robert Descharnes
Call Number: 709.2 DES
ISBN: 0810981319
Publication Date: 1993-09-05

Cover Art
Frida Kahlo - Sara McIntosh Wooten
Call Number: B KAHLO
ISBN: 0766024873
Publication Date: 2005-10-01

Cover Art
Frida and Diego - Catherine Reef
Call Number: 759.972 REE
ISBN: 9780547821849
Publication Date: 2014-08-26

Cover Art
Goya - Robert Hughes
Call Number: B GOYA
ISBN: 0375711287
Publication Date: 2006-11-07

Cover Art
Salvador Dali and the Surrealists - Michael Elsohn Ross; Peter Tush (Foreword by)
Call Number: B DALI
ISBN: 9781556524790
Publication Date: 2003-09-01

Cover Art
Velázquez - Norbert Wolf
Call Number: 759.6 Wol
ISBN: 9783836531924
Publication Date: 2011-10-09

Cover Art
50 Women Artists You Should Know - Petra Larass; Christiane Weidemann; Melanie Klier
Call Number: 709.22 WEI
ISBN: 9783791339566
Publication Date: 2008-04-30

Cover Art
Lives of the Artists - Kathleen Krull; Kathryn Hewitt (Illustrator)
Call Number: 920 KRU
ISBN: 0152001034
Publication Date: 1995-10-31

Cover Art
Art That Changed the World - Dorling Kindersley Publishing Staff
Call Number: 759 ART
ISBN: 9781465414359
Publication Date: 2013-08-19

Comprehensive Biographical Information

Use these 2 Library databases to find biographical and contextual information about your artist.

Search by the artist's last name.

              

      

    Web sources

    Use these fantastic web sources for more help understanding your artist and his/her important role in art history

    Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History - Use the "Search" box to search your artist by name and then read the "Thematic Essays" associated with your artist ("Mexico and Central America, 1900 A.D.–present," "Surrealism," "Cubism," ...)

    The Timeline of Art History presents the Met’s collection via a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of global art history. Targeted at students and scholars of art history, it is an invaluable reference, research, and teaching tool. Authored by the Met’s experts—predominantly made up of curators but also of conservators, scientists, and educators—the Timeline comprises 300 timelines, 930 essays, close to 7,000 objects, and a robust index, and is regularly updated and enriched to provide new scholarship and insights on the collection.

    The Art Story
    Search by artist, art movement, or timeline. Easy to use format provides a synopsis, key ideas, most important works by the artist, as well as an artist biography and other resources.


    Artsy
    Artsy features almost 200,000 high-quality contemporary art images from several major galleries, museum collections, foundations, artist estates, and art fairs. Search by artist,  or through categories such as "Andes Region".  "Mexico", "Spain", or "20th Century Art".

        

      Museum Collections

      • Museo Nacional Centro de Arte Reina Sofía
        The Museo Nacional Centro de Arte Reina Sofía is Spain's national museum of 20th-century art. Highlights of the museum includes a large collection of work by Pablo Picasso and Salvador Dalí. The museum's most famous masterpiece is Picasso's painting Guernica.
      • Museo del Prado
        The Museo del Prado in Madrid features one of the world's finest collections of European art and the largest single collection of Spanish art. Francisco de Goya is the single most represented artist at the museum. The best-known work on display at the museum is Las Meninas by Velázquez.
      • Museo Nacional De Arte
        Museo Nacional De Arte is the Mexican national art museum. It includes a large collection representing the history of Mexican art from the mid-sixteenth century to the mid 20th century
      • Museo Nacional de Colombia
        Museo Nacional de Colombia is the National Museum of Colombia housing collections on its history, art, culture.The museum houses a collection of over 20,000 pieces including works of art by masters Débora Arango, Fernando Botero, Enrique Grau, Ignacio Gomez Jaramillo, Santiago Martinez Delgado, Alejandro Obregón, Omar Rayo, Andrés de Santa María, and Guillermo Wiedemann
      • Museum of Modern Art
        The collection at New York's MoMA contains almost 200,000 works of modern and contemporary art by over 10,000 artists. 62,000 works are available online.
      • Guggenheim Museum
        This online collection contains selected classic works and more recent acquisitions from the Guggenheim Museum in New York.
      • The J. Paul Getty Museum
        Browse the Getty Museum's open content image collection. These images are free to use, modify, and publish for any purpose.
      • Art Institute of Chicago: Modern Painting and Sculpture
        The Art Institute of Chicago has an extensive collection of European painting and sculpture. Major Impressionist and Post-Impressionist works and classic Modern works are among its most significant holdings.
      • Art Museum of the Americas
        Art Museum of the Americas is the oldest museum of modern and contemporary Latin American and Caribbean art in the United States
       

      Joan Miro @ Tate Modern

      The film explores Joan Miró's life and working practice, beginning at his family's farm in Montroig, Catalonia, a sanctuary for him throughout his life and the source of much of his artistic inspiration. Guided by Miró's grandson and the curators from Tate Modern, the film visits his complex of studios and workshops overlooking the sea near Palma, Mallorca, where he moved after the Second World War and where he worked prolifically until his death at the age of 93. It includes rare material from films by Pere Portabella and Català Roca of Miró at work, and testimonials from friends who remember him as a remarkably generous and humble man.

      The film was made to accompany the exhibition 'Joan Miró, The Ladder of Escape' at Tate Modern. 14 April - 11 September
      See tate.org.uk/modern/exhibitions/joanmiro/default.shtm

       

      Frida Kahlo

      Artist Frida Kahlo was born on July 6, 1907, in Coyocoán, Mexico City, Mexico. Considered one of Mexico's greatest artists, Frida Kahlo began painting after she was severely injured in a bus accident. Kahlo later became politically active and married fellow communist artist Diego Rivera in 1929. She exhibited her paintings in Paris and Mexico before her death in 1954.

      For more information:  http://www.biography.com/people/frida-kahlo-9359496

      Spanish Language Resources

          

        More Links and Resources

        • Google Art Project
          This resource features over 40,000 images of artworks from museums, galleries, and cultural institutions in 40 countries. Some images are presented in "gigapixel" format, allowing for extremely detailed viewing. Using Google Street View technology, you can also take a virtual "walk" through places such as the Doge's Palace in Venice, the National Museum of Korea, and Versailles.
        • Wikiart
          The goal of this site is to provide a "high-quality, [complete] and well-structured online repository of fine art." You can browse by artist, movement, nationality, technique, style, and several other criteria to explore this fairly comprehensive, crowd-sourced image collection.
        • Central America Contemporary
          This blog was started by Julia Pimes and Óscar Diaz to compile an extensive database of Contemporary Art coming out of Central America and it's diasporas.
        • Latino/a + Caribbean Artists
          is a blog that primarily focuses on, but is not limited to, showcasing and celebrating Latino/a and Caribbean artists and emphasizes the importance of art education. This blog is intersectional, so you can expect to see posts of various cultures whose histories intertwine with Latino/a and Caribbean history.
        Description

        Loading  Loading...

        Tip