Skip to main content
site header image

Poetry Research: Resources for Specific Poets 2017

Resources for poets

Sherman Alexie

Modern Ameican Poetry

 

W.H. Auden

"W. H. Auden" from the British Library's Discovering Literature: 20th century

Abstract of 'Some Notes on Auden's Early Poetry' in New Verse, 1937 -

W H Auden and identity: the individual versus the world and Teaching Resources from the British Library's Discovering Literature: 20th century

 ‚Äč

Elizabeth Bishop

Modern Ameican Poetry

"Voices and Visions: Elizabeth Bishop" - (PBS) includes a video that explores the life and works of the author as well as links to other good resources 

"Elizabeth Bishop" from Poets for Young Adults

 

Billy Collins

"Billy Collins" from Twenty-First-Century American Poets, Second Series

"Billy Collins" from Poets for Young Adults

Reviewed Works: Picnic, Lightning by Billy Collins; The Art of Drowning by Billy Collins

"Billy Collins"

"Voice, Form and Looney Tunes"  

"Out of the Ordinary Poetry"

"Billy Collins on Life, Death and Poetry"

"Billy Collins Online Resources" from the Library of Congress

 "A Brisk Walk: Billy Collins in Conversation"

 

ee cummings

Modern Ameican Poetry

 

Emily Dickinson

Before I Got My Eye Put Out - The Poetry of Emily Dickinson: Crash Course English Lit #8

Modern Ameican Poetry

Finding Emily Dickinson in the power of her poetry

"Voices and Visions: Emily Dickinson" -  (PBS) includes a video that explores the life and works of the author as well as links to other good resources 

Emily Dickinson from BrainPop

"Emily (Elizabeth) Dickinson"

 

Rita Dove

Paul Laurence Dunbar

Modern Ameican Poetry

"Paul L. Dunbar, a Groundbreaking Poet"

 

Bob Dylan

"Desolation Row Revisited: Bob Dylan's Rock Poetry"

"Bob Dylan" from Poets for Young Adults

"Bob Dylan Wins Nobel Prize in Literature" from Poets and Writers Magazine

"The Poetry of Bob Dylan" lesson plan

"Bob Dylan and the Tone Behind the Language"

 

Robert Frost

Robert Frost by Shmoop

 

Langston Hughes
Langston Hughes & the Harlem Renaissance: Crash Course Literature 215

Modern Ameican Poetry

Dream Deferred (Langston Hughes) by Shmoop

"Writer Langston Hughes Used Many Styles"

"A Reading Guide to Langston Hughes"

"Langston Hughes"

"Voices and Visions: Langston Hughes - (PBS) includes a video that explores the life and works of the author as well as links to other good resources 

Resources for poets

Major Jackson

"Major Jackson" - interview

"About Major Jackson" (Ploughshares article)

‘Roll Deep,’ by Major Jackson (NTY book review) 

"An Interview with Major Jackson" from The Fiddleback

from New Letters, "An Interview with Major Jackson"

 

Rupi Kaur

"Rupi Kaur: the inevitable backlash against Instagram's favourite poet" from the Guardian

"The Technopo(e)litics of Rupi Kaur: (de)Colonial AestheTics and Spatial Narrations in the DigiFemme Age" from Ada: A Journal of Gender, New Media, and Technology

"Rupi Kaur’s work is teaching the world about the journey of growth, one poem at a time" from Global Citizen

"English Alum Rupi Kaur makes top seller lists with poetry collection" from University of Waterloo

 

Edna St Vincent Millay

Modern Ameican Poetry

 

Ogden Nash

Pablo Neruda

Pablo Neruda from BrainPop 

Info from Nobelprize.org

"Pablo Neruda: Poet from the End of the Earth"

"The Ecstasist

 

Grace Paley

"Grace Paley"

"Paley, Grace"

 

Sylvia Plath

The Poetry of Sylvia Plath: Crash Course Literature 216 - John Green Crash Course

Modern Ameican Poetry

"Sylvia Plath" from the British Library's Discovering Literature: 20th century

Sylvia Plath's The Bell Jar: Biographical context and Teaching Resources from the British Library's Discovering Literature: 20th century

"Voices and Visions: Sylvia Plath" -  (PBS) includes a video that explores the life and works of the author as well as links to other good resources 

 

Edgar Allen Poe 

"Poe Style Sheet"

EDGAR ALLAN POE from BrainPop 

Edgar Allen Poe from Newsela

 

Rumi

"Why is Rumi the Best-Selling Poet in the US?" from the BBC, "Jane Ciabattari explains his enduring influence."

"The Erasure of Islam from the Poetry of Rumi" - New Yorker article

 

Carl Sandburg

Chicago (Carl Sandburg) by Shmoop

 

Walt Whitman

Modern Ameican Poetry

The Walt Whitman Archive

"Voices and Visions: Walt Whitman" - (PBS) includes a video that explores the life and works of the author as well as links to other good resources 

 

William Carlos Williams

Modern Ameican Poetry

"Voices and Visions: William Carlos Williams" -  (PBS) includes a video that explores the life and works of the author as well as links to other good resources 

 

William Butler Yeats

Info from Nobelprize.org