This is the "Home" page of the "Hispanic Heritage Month" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Hispanic Heritage Month  

Each year, Americans observe National Hispanic Heritage Month from September 15 to October 15.
Last Updated: Sep 18, 2017 URL: http://libguides.cvuhs.org/content.php?pid=712004 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Hispanic Heritage Month

Each year, Americans observe National Hispanic Heritage Month from September 15 to October 15, by celebrating the histories, cultures and contributions of American citizens whose ancestors came from Spain, Mexico, the Caribbean and Central and South America.

The observation started in 1968 as Hispanic Heritage Week under President Lyndon Johnson and was expanded by President Ronald Reagan in 1988 to cover a 30-day period starting on September 15 and ending on October 15. It was enacted into law on August 17, 1988, on the approval of Public Law 100-402.

The day of September 15 is significant because it is the anniversary of independence for Latin American countries Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras and Nicaragua. In addition, Mexico and Chile celebrate their independence days on September 16 and September18, respectively. Also, Columbus Day or Día de la Raza, which is October 12, falls within this 30 day period.

(excerpt from https://www.hispanicheritagemonth.gov/about/)

 

Reference Books

Cover Art
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States - Suzanne Oboler (Editor); Deena J. González (Editor)
ISBN: 9780195156003
Publication Date: 2005-08-25

Cover Art
Latino Americans and Political Participation - Sharon Ann Navarro (Editor); Armando Xavier Mejia (Editor); Raymond A. Smith (Editor)
ISBN: 1851095233
Publication Date: 2004-11-23

 

Literature and Poetry

Cover Art
Red Hot Salsa - Lori Marie Carlson; Óscar Hijuelos (Introduction by)
ISBN: 9780805076165
Publication Date: 2005-04-01
"A variety of Latino poets, both familiar names and new voices, illuminate the difficulty of straddling cultures, languages, and identities, while celebrating food, family, love, and triumph." (excerpted from Follett's TitlePeek subscription service)

Cover Art
Here Is My Kingdom - Charles Sullivan; Luis R. Cancel (Foreword by)
ISBN: 0810934221
Publication Date: 1994-04-01
"Gathers Hispanic paintings, drawings, photographs, sculpture, poetry, songs, and writings." (excerpted from Follett's TitlePeek subscription service)

Cover Art
Herencia - Nicolás Kanellos
ISBN: 0195138244
Publication Date: 2001-11-01
"A thought-provoking anthology of Hispanic writing in the United States ranges from the age of Spanish exploration to the present day and incorporates works by Isabel Allende, Oscar Hijuelos, Reinaldo Arenas, Piri Thomas, Louis Valdez, and other distinguished Chicano, Nuyorican, Cuban American, and Latino authors." (excerpted from Follett's TitlePeek subscription service)

The Other Side - Julia Alvarez
ISBN: 0525939229
Publication Date: 1995-06-01
A collection of poems written in English by a Hispanic American woman, reflecting her experiences as a young girl and as a middle-aged woman. The collection includes the twenty-one-part title poem El Otro Lado which deals with the poet's return to her native Dominican Republic.

Cover Art
The Woman I Kept to Myself - Julia Alvarez
ISBN: 9781616200725
Publication Date: 2011-04-05
Alvarez's celebrated fiction, clarion essays, and welcoming poetry all flow from her fascination with sisterhood, mother-daughter relationships, and the angst of exile. Charming and intense at the same time, Alvarez writes candidly of epic concerns and everyday realities in this unfailingly lucid collection of autobiographical poems, each comprising three 10-line stanzas, a formal consistency that showcases both her directness and her sophistication. Cycling through her life, she remembers her Dominican Republic childhood, the nasty taunts of American children, her attempts to train herself to "show / genuine feeling in a borrowed tongue," and how her mother's instruction, "Keep it to yourself," led to the habit of writing: "And so, / Through many drafts, I became the woman / I kept to myself." Alvarez ponders unhappy marriages, late-blooming love, writer's block, love for animals and earth, spiritual conundrums, and "deathdays" instead of birthdays. "I don't know I'm alive unless / I'm writing," she confesses. Just as readers wouldn't know what to make of life without the sort of literature Alvarez creates: generous, illuminating, and inspiriting. ((Reviewed March 1, 2004)) Copyright 2004 Booklist Reviews.

Contemporary Chicana Poetry - Marta E. Sánchez
ISBN: 0520052625
Publication Date: 1985-01-01

Cover Art
Once upon a Cuento - Lyn Miller-Lachmann
ISBN: 1880684993
Publication Date: 2003-09-01
Presents a collection of short stories that explore Hispanic American life and culture.

Latina and Latino Voices in Literature for Children and Teenagers - Frances Ann Day
ISBN: 0435072021
Publication Date: 1997-03-03
Highlighting the lives and careers of writers whose cultural roots are embedded in a variety of racial, ethnic, regional, and religious traditions, the book not only makes it easier to locate their work - it provides insights into their writing styles, motivations, and points of view. (excerpted from Follett's TitlePeek subscription service)

Cover Art
Nerdlandia - Gary Soto
ISBN: 0698117840
Publication Date: 1999-07-19
"A humorous play in which Martin, a Chicano nerd, undergoes a transformation with the help of his friends and experiences true love." (excerpted from Follett's TitlePeek subscription service)

Cover Art
Dictionary of Chicano Folklore - Rafaela G. Castro; Tamra Andrews
ISBN: 0874369533
Publication Date: 2000-06-28

 

Fiction

Cover Art
Evangelina Takes Flight - Diana J. Noble
ISBN: 9781558858480
Publication Date: 2017-05-31
It is 1911 and 13-year-old Evangelina loves her life in northern Mexico, from her daily chores to her adoring family and the beauty of her surroundings. As her family celebrates her sister Elsa's quinceañera, news arrives that revolutionaries are due to turn up in their town any day now. To escape the violence, Evangelina and her family travel to Texas, leaving their home and some of their loved ones behind. When they arrive, they are met with hostility from people who erroneously believe they lack hygiene or the ability to learn arithmetic or science. When a meeting is organized to discuss preventing any more Mexicans to continue settling in Seneca, it seems as if the situation will become more hostile for Evangelina's family. With the help of a kindhearted doctor and her new friends Alfonso and Selim, Evangelina finds the strength to hope for a new life in an unfamiliar and unwelcoming place. Written in Evangelina's conscientious voice and containing parallels to some of today's current events, this hopeful, yet sometimes heartbreaking, novel is a fast and important read. Copyright 2017 Booklist Reviews.

Cover Art
Shadowshaper - Daniel José Older
ISBN: 9780545591614
Publication Date: 2015-06-30
When Sierra's grandfather warns her to finish her mural because "the paintings are fading," she is puzzled, but the only person willing to help her find answers is talented artist Robbie, and even he is reticent. Determined, Sierra finally learns the truth: her grandfather was a powerful shadowshaper, able to animate art with the spirit of a departed soul, and now an interloper, anthropologist Dr. Wick, is trying to steal these powers for himself. As Sierra investigates the shadowshapers, she discovers her own shockingly powerful role in the disappearing community. Apart from being an awesome power, shadowshaping becomes a resonant metaphor for the importance of cultural heritage, as Puerto Rican Sierra and Haitian Robbie draw on and amplify their ancestors' spirits, and their primary concern is keeping their honorable tradition alive in their community. Older's world building echoes that, too, weaving in timely commentary on gentrification, cultural appropriation, and even the shifting social mores of immigrant communities (especially evident in Sierra chafing against her grandfather's machismo). Even if readers don't recognize Older's crafty commentary, they will find plenty to like in the unique fantasy elements, entertainingly well-wrought characters, and cinematic pacing. Smart writing with a powerful message that never overwhelms the terrific storytelling. Copyright 2014 Booklist Reviews.

Cover Art
Under the Mesquite - Guadalupe Garcia McCall
ISBN: 9781600604294
Publication Date: 2013-04-01
Like the mesquite tree of the title, Lupita is sturdy and able to survive harsh climates with great potential for recovering from stress. Told in verse sprinkled with Spanish terms (a glossary is included), this story of Lupita's high-school years details her increasing responsibility within her large Mexican American family after Mami is diagnosed with cancer. Caring for seven younger siblings, keeping up with schoolwork and her drama roles, and staying connected with her classmates and friends while the worries gnaw at her take their toll, but she is strong. There are also moments of intense vulnerability. As high-school graduation nears, Lupita sees that her mother may not be there for it: "Suddenly I realize / how much I can't control, how much / I am not promised." The close-knit family relationships, especially Mami and Lupita's, are vividly portrayed, as is the healing comfort Lupita finds in words, whether written in her notebooks or performed onstage. Copyright 2011 Booklist Reviews.

Cover Art
How the Garcia Girls Lost Their Accents - Julia Alvarez
ISBN: 0945575572
Publication Date: 1991-01-04
Forced to flee their native Caribbean island after an attempted coup, the Garcias-Carlos, Laura, and their four daughters-must learn a new way of life in the Bronx, while trying to cling to the old ways that they loved. (excerpted from Follett's TitlePeek subscription)

Cover Art
Return to Sender - Julia Alvarez
ISBN: 9780375858383
Publication Date: 2009-01-13
With quiet drama, Alvarez tells a contemporary immigration story through the alternating viewpoints of two young people in Vermont. After 11-year-old Tyler's father is injured in a tractor accident, the family is in danger of losing their dairy farm. Desperate for help, Tyler s family employs Mari s family, who are illegal migrant Mexican workers. Mari writes heartrending letters and diary entries, especially about Mamá, who has disappeared during a trip to Mexico to visit Mari's dying abuelita. Is Mamá in the hands of the border-crossing "coyotes"? Have they hurt her? Will Homeland Security (la migra) raid the farm? The plot is purposive, with messages about the historical connections between migrant workers today and the Indians displacement, the Underground Railroad, and earlier immigrants seeking refuge. But the young people s voices make for a fast read; the characters, including the adults, are drawn with real complexity; and the questions raised about the meaning of patriotism will spark debate. Copyright 2008 Booklist Reviews.

Cover Art
Caramelo - Sandra Cisneros
ISBN: 9780679742586
Publication Date: 2003-09-09
During her family's annual car trip from Chicago to Mexico City, Lala Reyes listens to stories about her family, including her grandmother, the descendant of a renowned dynasty of shawl makers, whose magnificent striped (or caramelo) shawl has come into Lala's possession, in a multi-generational saga of a Mexican-American family. (excerpted from Follett's TitlePeek subscription)

Cover Art
Mexican WhiteBoy - Matt De la Peña
ISBN: 9780385733106
Publication Date: 2008-08-12
Biracial Danny Lopez doesn't think he fits anywhere. He feels like an outsider with his Mexican father's family, with whom he is staying for the summer, and at his mostly white school, and he wonders if his confusion drove his father away. He also struggles with his obsession for baseball; a gifted player with a blazing fastball, he lacks control of his game. With the support of a new friend and his caring cousins, Danny begins to deal with the multitude of problems in his life, which include his tendency to cut himself, an unusual characteristic in a male YA protagonist. The author juggles his many plotlines well, and the portrayal of Danny's friends and neighborhood is rich and lively. Where the story really lights up is in the baseball scenes, which sizzle like Danny's fastball. A violent scene, left somewhat unresolved, is the catalyst for him to confront the truth about his father. Danny's struggle to find his place will speak strongly to all teens but especially to those of mixed race. Copyright 2006 Booklist Reviews.

Cover Art
Out of Darkness - Ashley Hope Pérez
ISBN: 1467742023
Publication Date: 2015-09-01
Pérez's latest-following The Knife and the Butterfly (2012)-is a powerful work of historical fiction set in New London, Texas, that revolves around events leading up to the horrific 1937 school explosion that killed close to 300 people. This gripping story centers on high-school senior Naomi, a Mexican American girl who recently arrived from San Antonio with her half siblings, twins Beto and Cari, and their father, oil-field worker Henry. Naomi's struggle to learn how to take care of the household chores is complicated by her dark past with Henry and the overt racism she faces in the segregated town. She reluctantly befriends and then falls in love with an African American boy, Wash, who is both brilliant and kind to her younger brother and sister. Pérez's skillful use of multiple perspectives creates a full and well-rounded sense of place and story. Elegant prose and gently escalating action will leave readers gasping for breath at the tragic climax and moving conclusion. Copyright 2014 Booklist Reviews.

Cover Art
Gabi, a Girl in Pieces - Isabel Quintero
ISBN: 9781935955948
Publication Date: 2014-10-14
Reading Quintero's debut is like attending a large family fiesta: it's overpopulated with people, noise, and emotion, but the overall effect is joyous. Presented as the diary of 17-year-old Mexican American Gabi, it covers a senior year ostensibly filled with travail, from a first kiss to first sex; from dealing with a meth-head father to a constantly shaming mother; from the pregnancies of two classmates to Gabi's own fear of becoming "Hispanic Teen Mom #3,789,258." But that makes the book sound pedantic, and it's anything but. Unlike most diary-format novels, this truly feels like the product of a teenager used to dealing with a lot of life's b.s. Sure, she is depressed at times, but just as often she is giddy with excitement about her new boyfriend (and then the one after that), or shrugging at the weight she just doesn't feel like losing. If there is a structuring element, it's the confidence-building poems Gabi writes for composition class, which read just like the uncertain early work of a nonetheless talented fledgling writer. Quintero, on the other hand, is utterly confident, gifting us with a messy, complicated protagonist who isn't defined by ethnicity, class, weight, or lifestyle. Gabi is purely herself-and that's what makes her universal. Copyright 2014 Booklist Reviews.

Cover Art
Esperanza Rising - Pam Muñoz Ryan
ISBN: 9780439120425
Publication Date: 2002-05-01
Moving from a Mexican ranch to the company labor camps of California, Ryan's lyrical novel manages the contradictory: a story of migration and movement deeply rooted in the earth. When 14-year-old Esperanza's father is killed, she and her mother must emigrate to the U.S., where a family of former ranch workers has helped them find jobs in the agricultural labor camps. Coming from such privilege, Esperanza is ill prepared for the hard work and difficult conditions she now faces. She quickly learns household chores, though, and when her mother falls ill, she works packing produce until she makes enough money to bring her beloved abuelita to the U.S.. Set during the Great Depression, the story weaves cultural, economic, and political unrest into Esperanza's poignant tale of growing up: she witnesses strikes, government sweeps, and deep injustice while finding strength and love in her family and romance with a childhood friend. The symbolism is heavy-handed, as when Esperanza ominously pricks her finger on a rose thorne just before her father is killed. But Ryan writes movingly in clear, poetic language that children will sink into, and the books offers excellent opportunities for discussion and curriculum support. -Gillian Engberg Copyright 2000 Booklist Reviews

Cover Art
The Inexplicable Logic of My Life - Benjamin Alire Sáenz
ISBN: 9780544586505
Publication Date: 2017-03-07
Seventeen-year-old Sal has had both bad luck and great luck with family. His mother died when he was three, but she ensured he would be adopted by her best friend, Vicente, a loving gay man who brings with him a large, welcoming Mexican American family. He has also been blessed with his best friend, Sam, a girl with mother issues. Sal has mostly led a tranquil life, but his senior year turns out to contain unexpected upsets and sorrows, though also deeper chances to understand love. Sáenz presents readers with several beautifully drawn relationships, especially that of Sal and his grandmother, who is dying of cancer-there is richness even in their silences. There are also some wonderful moments between father and son, though Vicente's perfection as a parent can defy belief (not surprisingly, he's compared to Atticus Finch). There are times when the story is weighed down by repetitive conversations, but there are numerous heartfelt moments as well. Sal is one of those characters you wonder about after the book is closed. Maybe Sáenz will tell us more. Copyright 2016 Booklist Reviews.

Cover Art
On the Edge - Allison van Diepen
ISBN: 9780062303448
Publication Date: 2014-11-25
"When Maddie Diaz witnesses the murder of a homeless man by members of a gang, she tells the cops what she saw without thinking about the repercussions of snitching, but a mysterious guy named Lobo comes to her defense and is determined to take down the gang and protect her" (excerpted from Follett's TitlePeek subscription service)

Cover Art
In the Time of the Butterflies - Julia Alvarez
ISBN: 9781565129764
Publication Date: 2010-01-12
"It is November 25, 1960, and three beautiful sisters have been found dead near their wrecked Jeep at the bottom of a 150-foot cliff on the north coast of the Dominican Republic. The official state newspaper reports their death as accidental. It does notmention that a fourth sister lives. Nor does it explain that the sisters were among the leading opponents of Gen. Rafael Leonidas Trujillo's dictatorship. It doesn't have to. Everybody knows of Las Mariposas-the Butterflies. In this extraordinary novel,the voices of all four sisters-Minerva, Patria, Marâia Teresa, and the survivor, Dedâe-speak across the decades to tell their own stories, from hair ribbons and secret crushes to gunrunning and prison torture, and to describe the everyday horrors of life under Trujillo's rule. Through the art and magic of Julia Alvarez's imagination, the martyred Butterflies live again in this novel of courage, love, and the human cost of political oppression" (excerpted from Follett's TitlePeek subscription service)

Cover Art
The House on Mango Street - Sandra Cisneros
ISBN: 0679734775
Publication Date: 1991-04-03
The House on Mango Street is the remarkable story of Esperanza Cordero, a young Latina girl growing up in Chicago, inventing for herself who and what she will become. Told in a series of vignettes—sometimes heartbreaking, sometimes deeply joyous—Sandra Cisneros’ masterpiece is a classic story of childhood and self-discovery. Few other books in our time have touched so many readers. (excerpted from Follett's TitlePeek subscription service)

Cover Art
Suckerpunch - David Hernandez
ISBN: 9780061173301
Publication Date: 2007-12-26
Marcus Mendoza, aka Nub because of a severed index finger, narrates this hard-hitting and profane novel about parental abuse. From the opening sentence, the writing shocks, then mesmerizes readers, making its title an apt choice. Hernandez powerfully describes the harsh life of working poor families and their children as victims. Marcus imagines there are others like him, a "whole dissatisfied throng, T-shirted and disheveled and angry at the world." As readers ride with the brothers on their journey of vengeance, Enrique, Marcus's younger brother, steps into the spotlight. Enrique has suffered years of physical beatings from their father, a man who bolted to Monterey, Calif., a year before the story opens. The journey to hunt down their father is fueled by hits of acid and "gourmet marijuana," as Hernandez skillfully produces sobering descriptions of prior tragedies. The climax crackles with suspense, but the last 20 pages have a tacked-on vibe that's a slight letdown. Nevertheless, Hernandez's solid first YA effort will have readers clamoring for his next work. (Fiction. YA) Copyright Kirkus 2008 Kirkus/BPI Communications. All rights reserved.

Cover Art
Shame the Stars - Guadalupe Garcia McCall
ISBN: 9781620142783
Publication Date: 2016-09-15
Pura Belpré Award winner McCall (Under the Mesquite, 2011) chooses the tumultuous borderlands of Texas and Mexico at the time of the Mexican Revolution as the setting for her latest. Loosely based on Shakespeare's Romeo and Juliet, this story's lovestruck, but not quite so ill-fated, teens face opposition from their families and the growing unrest in their community. Eighteen-year-old Joaquín del Toro can think of nothing but Dulceña Villa, though a feud between their families means that the pair's interactions are limited to secret notes and meetings. Their romance is but a framework for the violence erupting in their Texas county between Tejanos (Texans) and Anglo Rangers, who are practicing their own brand of racism-driven vigilante justice. Though the dialogue doesn't always ring true, the historical aspects of the narrative are eye-opening. McCall infuses the little-discussed uprising in South Texas with Spanish (defined in a glossary) and primary-source newspaper clippings, and gives women a vital role in the Tejano fight for justice. A powerful story of love in the face of great odds. Copyright 2016 Booklist Reviews.

Cover Art
Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe - Benjamin Alire Sáenz; Mark Brabant (Cover Design by)
ISBN: 9781442408920
Publication Date: 2012-02-21
When Aristotle and Dante meet, in the summer of 1987, they are 15-year-olds existing in "the universe between boys and men." The two are opposites in most ways: Dante is sure of his place in the world, while Ari feels he may never know who he is or what he wants. But both are thoughtful about their feelings and interactions with others, and this title is primarily focused on the back-and-forth in their relationship over the course of a year. Family issues take center stage, as well as issues of Mexican identity, but the heart of the novel is Dante's openness about his homosexuality and Ari's suppression of his. Sáenz (Sammy and Juliana in Hollywood, 2004) writes toward the end of the novel that "to be careful with people and words was a rare and beautiful thing." And that's exactly what Sáenz does-he treats his characters carefully, giving them space and time to find their place in the world, and to find each other. This moves at a slower pace than many YA novels, but patient readers, and those struggling with their own sexuality, may find it to be a thought-provoking read. Copyright 2012 Booklist Reviews.

Movies Available

  • Lost Souls
    "Before we could recover his body, Gino had been buried in an unmarked grave in Mexico."
    http://www.pbs.org/independentlens/lo... Augie and Gino were living the American dream — raised and educated in the United States and proud veterans of the military. But in 1999, these two brothers were forced to leave the only country they'd ever known and had pledged to protect. Follow filmmaker Monika Navarro on her familial journey to Mexico as she pieces together the tragic events of her uncles' deportation and opens a Pandora's box of family secrets." PBS, Independent Lens
  • McFarland, USA
    "Jim White moves his family after losing his last job as a football coach. He sees that some of the students are worth starting a cross-country team and turns seven students with no hope into one of the best cross-country teams." IMDB.com
  • American Experience: A Class Apart
    The Supreme Court's ruling in Hernandez v. Texas gave Mexican-Americans equal protection under United States law. This ruling was a proud acheivement for Mexican-Americans, and a great civil rights victory. Video from, American Experience: "A Class Apart." PBS
 

Non Fiction and Biographies

Cover Art
Just Like Us - Helen Thorpe
ISBN: 9781416538936
Publication Date: 2009-09-22
"'Just Like Us' offers a powerful account of four young Mexican women coming of age in Denver-two of whom have legal documentation, two of whom who don't-and the challenges they face as they attempt to pursue the American dream." (excerpted from Follett's TitlePeek subscription service)

Songs My Mother Sang to Me - Patricia Preciado Martin
ISBN: 0816512795
Publication Date: 1992-07-01
"In ten oral histories recorded by Martin, Mexican American women of the Southwest reach as far back as the turn of the century to recall family history and genealogy, secular and religious traditions, work and leisure, living conditions, and personal values. Annotation copyright Book News, Inc. Portland, Or." (excerpted from Follett's TitlePeek subscription service)

Cover Art
Far from Home - Tim Wendel; Jose Luis Villegas
ISBN: 9781426202162
Publication Date: 2008-03-18
A look at the integral relationship between baseball and the Latin American world describes how thousands of Latinos have attempted to make their childhood dreams of success as big-league baseball players into reality. (excerpted from Follett's TitlePeek subscription service)

Octavio Paz - Joseph Roman
ISBN: 0791012492
Publication Date: 1994-01-01
Presents the life and career of the Mexican poet. (excerpted from Follett's TitlePeek subscription service)

Cover Art
North Across the Border - Lila Perl; Kathleen Benson; James Haskins; Milton Meltzer
ISBN: 0761412263
Publication Date: 2002-01-01
Reviewed with Dan Elish's The Trail of Tears.Gr. 6-9. The Great Journeys series is a well-designed package that uses top-notch authors to tell the stories of groups who had to leave their homelands and make a place in new physical and emotional territory. The story of the Cherokees' forced relocation from Georgia to Oklahoma is particularly moving. Elish does a fine job introducing the Cherokee nation in The Trail of Tears. Using straightforward, effective language, he describes the many broken treaties, the Cherokee's assimilation into white society, and their removal from their homes, which were taken over by whites. In North across the Border, Perl makes clear that lost lands and broken promises were also the fate of the native peoples south of the border. She begins by describing the monumental effect the arrival of Europeans had on Mexican civilizations. She then discusses the impact, on both countries, of the great migration to the U.S., which began in the twentieth century. There is also an honest look at how economics has affected it. Both books are filled with crisp, well-selected photographs and historical illustrations. Notes, a bibliography, and a list of films and books for further reading complete these useful, thought-provoking volumes. ((Reviewed January 1 & 15, 2002)) Copyright 2002 Booklist Reviews

Cover Art
Becoming Maria - Sonia Manzano
ISBN: 9780545621847
Publication Date: 2015-08-25
Though many adults may recognize Manzano as Maria from Sesame Street, she's likely more well known among today's teens as the author of the Pura Belpré-winning The Revolution of Evelyn Serrano (2012). In her present-tense memoir, Manzano, who grew up in 1950s South Bronx, examines her community, her family, and her ever-changing self with a wide-eyed curiosity. She struggles to make sense of her mother's decisions, such as staying with an abusive husband and trading in a hardscrabble existence in Puerto Rico for an equally challenging life in the U.S. It's Manzano's gift for theater that provides her the opportunity of a lifetime, and thanks to her talent, she attends a performing-arts high school and then Carnegie Mellon. This beautifully rendered coming-of-age story calls to mind Betty Smith's classic A Tree Grows in Brooklyn. Though it's a bit slow moving at times and would have benefited from a time line to help ground readers, this is nevertheless an inspiring portrait of resiliency and a time capsule for a New York that now feels like a distant memory. Copyright 2014 Booklist Reviews

Cover Art
The Boy Kings of Texas - Domingo Martinez
ISBN: 9780762779192
Publication Date: 2012-07-03
Growing up in Brownsville, Texas, Martinez felt like a giraffe in a community of mules. Smart and sensitive (he sheds gallons of tears), he was an outsider. So, in a larger sense, were the other members of his family, who identified as Mexican but was regarded by the community as being American. As a result, Domingo felt he belonged in neither culture, which is a theme that unites his otherwise episodic coming-of-age memoir. Another, more visceral theme is machismo, a tradition in Mexican culture and that Martinez finds repugnant and that separates him from his overbearing father. Such experiences and others-children were regarded as a commodity to be swapped or traded-make the book an informal exercise in sociology as well as a memoir. Weighing in at more than 450 pages, the book extends from Martinez's preschool years to his thirties. Though too long, it nevertheless coheres and offers experiences that readers will find informative and emotionally engaging. Copyright 2012 Booklist Reviews.

Cover Art
My Beloved World - Sonia Sotomayor
ISBN: 9780307594884
Publication Date: 2013-01-15
The first Hispanic American on the U.S. Supreme Court shares the story of her life before becoming a judge, describing her youth in a Bronx housing project, the ambition that fueled her ivy league education, and the individuals who helped shape her career. (excerpted from Follett's TitlePeek subscription)

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip