Skip to main content
site header image

Poetry Research: General Resources

Databases

Database passwords for off-campus access (requires Google login)

Use for finding biographical information about your poet.

Provides access to biographies and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline. 

Includes access to EXPLORING Poetry reference title 

Three digital encyclopedias in one! It's also a great way to find reviewed websites on a topic.

NoodleTools

 

Use our subscription version of NoodleTools to create accurate bibliographies!  NoodleTools allows students to cite, archive and evaluate sources, organize notes, and outline.  The 'Sharing and Collaboration' function allows students and teachers/advisors to work together on a project.

 

There are many features that make NoodleTools a terrific research helper.  Take advantage of the option in your account profile ("My Account" - "My Profile") to display "Show Me" help screens for source checking and for help finding the information required for source evaluation with the CRAAP test.  Check out the Help Bubbles offered when making a citation.

 

Resources

Poetry Foundation - Poet biographies and poems 

Poets.org - Poet biographies, poems, and essays about poetry

 Famous Poets (Biography.com)

Shmoop - Great site for analysis of poems.  Be sure to "Search" for your poet or poem- Some aren't listed in the alphabetic lists!

 

And don't forget - Your poet’s official website!

Tools

Read&Write for Google Chrome

Tools in databases                       save image

Rewordify