LibGuides: China Trip: Home

World Newspapers

Find Newspapers from around the world

Newseum's "Today's Front Pages" from international newspapers. Use the dropdown box to specify region

"World News" from All You Can Read

Worldpress.org's "Top Headlines From Around the World"

World Newspapers from Scholastic Go!
Use the dropdown box to select a country (the default is the United States)

Specialized Library Databases

Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
Integrating news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, and more. Â Updated daily
Grolier Online This link opens in a new window
3 digital encyclopedias in one place. Includes content at 3 levels of reading and depth. It's also a great way to find reviewed websites on a topic.
World History in Context This link opens in a new window
Through the use of the Gale "In-Context" interface World History in Context covers the events that shaped the world.
**cross-searchable with U.S. History In Context
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Multiple perspectives for many current issues: opinions, overviews of issues, reference sources, statistics, websites, and more.
Gale PowerSearch This link opens in a new window

Search Tips

Tip 1: Use keywords in Advanced Search to help narrow down your search and find relevant information more quickly.

[Your country] AND [keyword or words]

For example:

El Salvador AND elections
Chile AND health care
Turkey AND economy
Afghanistan AND foreign policy
India AND globalization

Tip 2: Use "Ctrl+F" (Windows) or "Command+F" (Mac) to quickly search webpages and documents.

Websites: Country & Regional Analysis

Council on Foreign Relations
Foreign relations and policy information hosted by the CFR.
more...less...
The CFR is an independent, nonpartisan membership organization, think tank, and publisher dedicated to being a resource for its members, government officials, business executives, journalists, educators and students, civic and religious leaders, and other interested citizens in order to help them better understand the world and the foreign policy choices facing the United States and other countries.
Freedom House
Freedom ratings by an independent organization.
more...less...
Freedom House is an independent watchdog organization dedicated to the expansion of freedom around the world.
InfoPlease Country Profiles
Each profile contains: Geography · Maps · Flag · History · Current ruler · Area · Population · Capital · Largest cities · Languages · Ethnicity/race · Religion · Literacy rate · Economy · Government
Gallup - Foreign Affairs
Public opinion polls on foreign affairs
Pew Research Center - Global Issues
Worldwide numbers, facts, and trends.

NoodleTools

Use our subscription version of NoodleTools to create accurate bibliographies! NoodleTools allows students to cite, archive and evaluate sources, organize notes, and outline. The 'Sharing and Collaboration' function allows students and teachers/advisors to work together on a project.

There are many features that make NoodleTools a terrific research helper. Take advantage of the option in your account profile ("My Account" - "My Profile") to display "Show Me" help screens for source checking and for help finding the information required for source evaluation with the CRAAP test. Check out the Help Bubbles offered when making a citation.

Other

Culture Grams - China
BBC News YouTube channel "WORLD HACKS"
The Economist
Good place to explore for ideas. If you can't read the full article here, you can get the full text from Global Issues in Context or Gale PowerSearch
more...less...
Ask Jennifer for help!
Foreign Affairs
Good place to explore for ideas. If you can't read the full article here, you can get the full text from Gale PowerSearch
more...less...
Ask Jennifer how to get full-text of the articles!
PRI's "Global Security"
"reporting and conversation about international security, conflict, and migration"

News & Media Sources

Tip: Use the search boxes on these sites to find news & video related to your chosen country.

Al Jazeera English - video
Al Jazeera Video
Video segments hosted by Al Jazeera America.
BBC News
Audio and video segments hosted by BBC World News.
CNN Video
Video segments hosted by CNN.
Public Radio International

Websites: Country Guides

BBC Country Profiles
Country profiles hosted by BBC News.
more...less...
Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions. They also include audio and video clips from BBC archives.
CIA World Factbook
Country profiles hosted by the CIA.
more...less...
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.
Department of State (U.S.) Country Information
International Statistical Agenices
Links to countries' statistical agencies. Hosted by the U.S. Census Bureau.
more...less...
Tip: If website is in a language other than English, use Google Chrome. This browser will ask if you'd like to translate foreign languages into English.
United Nations and Individual Country Statistical Yearbooks
Click on a country to see what census information they are collecting. Hosted by UW-Madison Libraries.
World Leaders
Directory and profiles of world leaders, hosted by the CIA.
more...less...
The CIA publishes and updates the online directory of Chiefs of State and Cabinet Members of Foreign Governments regularly. The directory is intended to be used primarily as a reference aid and includes as many governments of the world as is considered practical, some of them not officially recognized by the United States.

China Trip: Home

Country Information Research Guide