It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Focuses on the geographic, political, social, economic, environmental, and cultural forces in our globalized world. Find information about the landforms and climate; natural resources and agriculture; environment; people; traditions and etiquette; food and holidays; national dress; art and landmarks; and government, politics, and economy; as well as its history and contemporary issues the country faces.
Make comparisons and graph statistical data at the country level, with more than 160 categories including birth rate, currency, social media users, and more
The CFR is an independent, nonpartisan membership organization, think tank, and publisher dedicated to being a resource for its members, government officials, business executives, journalists, educators and students, civic and religious leaders, and other interested citizens in order to help them better understand the world and the foreign policy choices facing the United States and other countries.
Use our subscription version of NoodleTools to create accurate bibliographies! NoodleTools allows students to cite, archive and evaluate sources, organize notes, and outline. The 'Sharing and Collaboration' function allows students and teachers/advisors to work together on a project.
There are many features that make NoodleTools a terrific research helper. Take advantage of the option in your account profile ("My Account" - "My Profile") to display "Show Me" help screens for source checking and for help finding the information required for source evaluation with the CRAAP test. Check out the Help Bubbles offered when making a citation.
Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions. They also include audio and video clips from BBC archives.
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.
The CIA publishes and updates the online directory of Chiefs of State and Cabinet Members of Foreign Governments regularly. The directory is intended to be used primarily as a reference aid and includes as many governments of the world as is considered practical, some of them not officially recognized by the United States.