Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

Human Impact Project: Gender Equality

Overview

  • stereotypes, employment gap, leadership roles, perspectives/biases, jobs/occupation, inheritance laws, criminalization of same sex relationships, partner violence, mental health disorders, drug/alcohol addiction, sports ...

Library Books

Gender Equality Topic Ideas

Sexual and Reproductive Health

Sex-selective abortion

Contraception

Maternal and perinatal health

Sexually transmitted and reproductive infections

Sexual health

Stillbirths

Maternal death and disability

HIV

Unintended Pregnancies

Adolescent Health

Sexual Education and Family Planning

   

World Health Organization - Sexual and Reproductive Health: http://www.who.int/reproductivehealth/topics/en/

United Nations Population Fund - Sexual and Reproductive Health: http://www.unfpa.org/sexual-reproductive-health

Guttmacher Institute - Sexual and Reproductive Health and Rights are Key to Global Development: https://www.guttmacher.org/gpr/2015/02/sexual-and-reproductive-health-and-rights-are-key-global-development-case-ramping

Legislation and Policy

Underrepresentation of women in government

Citizenship

Frontline combat

Discriminatory divorce rights

Freedom of Marriage

Custody Rights

Underrepresentation of women in government

Title IX

Gender-integrated military units

 

Borgen Magazine - 10 Examples of Gender Equality in the World: http://www.borgenmagazine.com/10-examples-gender-inequality-world/

Global Citizen - 11 Laws from Around the World that Stand in the Way of Gender Equality: https://www.globalcitizen.org/en/content/11-laws-from-around-the-world-that-stand-in-the-wa/

UN Women - Facts and Figures Leadership and Political Participation: http://www.unwomen.org/en/what-we-do/leadership-and-political-participation/facts-and-figures

UN - Women in Politics Map: http://www.un.org/sustainabledevelopment/blog/2017/03/womens-political-parity-slow-to-grow-as-un-launches-latest-women-in-politics-map/

Economic Opportunity

Unpaid care and domestic work

Under-representation in leadership and management positions

Access to education

Global GDP and Gender Gap

Gender Bias in STEM Careers

Unpaid care and domestic work

Under-representation in leadership and management positions

Gender Pay Gap

Gender Bias in STEM Careers

 

World Economic Forum - The Case for Gender Equality: http://reports.weforum.org/global-gender-gap-report-2015/the-case-for-gender-equality/

McKinsey and Company - How advancing women’s equality can add $12 trillion to global growth: https://www.mckinsey.com/global-themes/employment-and-growth/how-advancing-womens-equality-can-add-12-trillion-to-global-growth

UN Women - Facts and Figures Economic Empowerment: http://www.unwomen.org/en/what-we-do/economic-empowerment/facts-and-figures

The Economist - Girl Power: The Cost of Sexism: https://www.economist.com/news/americas/21661804-gender-equality-good-economic-growth-girl-power
American Association of University Women - The Simple Truth about the Gender Pay Gap: https://www.economist.com/news/americas/21661804-gender-equality-good-economic-growth-girl-power

Pew Research Center - The Gender Pay Gap: http://www.pewresearch.org/fact-tank/2017/04/03/gender-pay-gap-facts/

The Atlantic - Beyond Sexual Harassment: https://www.theatlantic.com/business/archive/2017/12/women-work-discrimination/548432/

Wired - Why Men Don’t Believe the Gender Bias in Science: https://www.wired.com/story/why-men-dont-believe-the-data-on-gender-bias-in-science/

 

Overall Resources

UN Gender Equality Issue Brief: http://www.unwomen.org/en/digital-library/multimedia/2017/7/infographic-spotlight-on-sdg-5

UN Sustainable Development Goals - Gender Equality Knowledge Platform: https://sustainabledevelopment.un.org/sdg5

ABC-CLIO Topic Center - Gender: https://issues.abc-clio.com/Search/Results

ABC-CLIO Library Results - Gender: https://issues.abc-clio.com/Search/Results/?tab=2&book=0&q=gender&pIndex2=2&pSize=20&sort=0&tc=405&ct1=377&ct2=28&sType=quick

TED.com - Talks about Gender: https://www.ted.com/topics/gender

Gender Equality Topic Ideas

Topic

Sub-Topic - Global

Sub-Topic - National

Subtopic - Local

Media and Gender

Gender Bias and Stereotype in Media

Female and Male Visibility Presence

Inequity of Management in Media Companies

Consequences of Media on Adolescent Gender Roles/Perceptions

Body Image and Media


 
   

The Guardian - How the Media Can Promote Gender Equality: https://www.theguardian.com/global-development-professionals-network/2016/oct/26/more-hillary-less-donald-how-the-media-can-promote-gender-equality

Global Issues - Bridging the Gender Gap in Media: http://www.globalissues.org/news/2015/03/09/20705

UN Women - Women and the Media: http://beijing20.unwomen.org/en/in-focus/media and infographic: http://www.unwomen.org/en/digital-library/multimedia/2015/11/infographic-women-and-media

Common Sense Media - Gender Stereotypes are Messing with Your Kid: https://www.commonsensemedia.org/blog/gender-stereotypes-are-messing-with-your-kid

University of North Carolina - Gendered Media: The Influence of Media on Views of Gender: https://www.nyu.edu/classes/jackson/causes.of.gender.inequality/Readings/Wood%20-%20Gendered%20Media%20-%2094.pdf

Common Sense Media - Children, Teens, Media, and Body Image:  https://www.commonsensemedia.org/research/children-teens-media-and-body-image

US News and World Report - How the World Can Combat Sexism: https://www.usnews.com/news/best-countries/articles/2017-10-24/un-women-aims-to-tackle-global-gender-stereotypes-in-media


 

Gender Roles

Gender Stereotypes

Gender Inequality

Transgender Rights

Gender Neutral Language

Gender Identity

   

Planned Parenthood - Gender Roles: https://www.plannedparenthood.org/learn/sexual-orientation-gender/gender-gender-identity/what-are-gender-roles-and-stereotypes

CNN - This is What Happens When Gender Stereotypes are Forced on Kids: http://www.cnn.com/2017/09/20/health/geas-gender-stereotypes-study/index.html

TIME - Gender Stereotypes - Kids Believe Them by Age 10: http://www.cnn.com/2017/09/20/health/geas-gender-stereotypes-study/index.html

The Atlantic - Toys Are More Divided by Gender Now Than They Were 50 Years Ago: https://www.theatlantic.com/business/archive/2014/12/toys-are-more-divided-by-gender-now-than-they-were-50-years-ago/383556/

NPR - Gender Roles: https://www.npr.org/tags/163109268/gender-roles

NYTimes - Britain Cracking Down on Gender Stereotypes in Ads: https://www.nytimes.com/2017/07/18/world/europe/britain-ads-gender-stereotypes.html?_r=0

ABC-CLIO - Gender Roles and Equality in the Developing World: https://issues.abc-clio.com/Search/Display/1514883?terms=gender+roles&sType=multi

National Geographic - How Science is Helping Us Understand Gender: https://www.nationalgeographic.com/magazine/2017/01/how-science-helps-us-understand-gender-identity/

Sexual Violence and Exploitation

Femicide

Honor Killings

Human Trafficking

Genital Mutilation

Child Marriage

Sexual Harassment

Rape

Domestic Violence

Conflict-related sexual violence

Physical Abuse

Sexual Abuse

Human Trafficking

Child Marriage

Sexual Harassment

Rape

Domestic Violence

Physical Abuse

Sexual Abuse

 

UN Facts and Figure - Ending Violence Against Women: http://www.unwomen.org/en/what-we-do/ending-violence-against-women/facts-and-figures

UNICEF Data - Sexual Violence: https://data.unicef.org/topic/child-protection/violence/sexual-violence/

UNICEF - Human Trafficking and Domestic Violence: https://www.unicefusa.org/stories/domestic-violence-and-human-trafficking/33601

National Sexual Violence Research Center  - Global Perspectives on Sexual Violence: https://www.nsvrc.org/sites/default/files/Publications_NSVRC_Booklets_Global-perspectives-on-sexual-violence.pdf

The World Bank - Violence Against Women and Girls: http://www.worldbank.org/en/topic/socialdevelopment/brief/violence-against-women-and-girls

ABC-CLIO - Human Trafficking Topic Center: https://issues.abc-clio.com/Topics/Display/913395?terms=global+sexual+violence&sType=multi&tab2